Gummy Bears win third ABT championship

They are back at the top.

After a runner-up finish in Season 6, the Gummy Bears have won their third APCRAA Basketball Tournament championship in three games at the expense of the Richmond Oilers, 80-71, on Saturday, August 19 at the APC Gymnasium.

The Gummies established a sizeable lead early in the first quarter, taking advantage of the absence of Renzo Macaraeg, who was downed with an injury he sustained in Game 2. The Gummy Bears then pounded further, leading by as much as 23 points in the third quarter. Things went smoothly until a late run by the Oilers in the fourth quarter, reducing the gap by only 5 points with only two minutes left in the game. The Gummies were able to weather off the Oilers storm and held on to the lead until the final buzzer.

Team captain Brix Estabillo scored his new career high of 34 points with 7 rebounds and 7 assists, earning him the Finals MVP trophy. Guess dela Cuesta contributed 10 points, 8 rebounds, 3 assists and 2 steals. Together with Archie Gratil, they have won their fifth alumni basketball tournament championship. JV Reyes scored three consecutive three point shots in the third quarter. Lester de Luna also scored his 500th point in the first quarter, becoming the 13th player in tournament history to join the 500 points club.

For the Oilers, JP Bayog became their top scorer with 18 points, 3 rebounds and 4 assists. Justine Abequibel contributed 11 points, 4 rebounds and 5 assists. Latrell Sombilon had 10 points, 5 rbeounds, 3 assists and 2 steals.

APC President Dr. Ma. Teresita “Tata” Medado, together with APC Internship coordinator Ms. Unica Althea Iranta attended the awarding ceremonies immediately after the championship game to award the runners-up and the champions.


GUMMY BEARS (80): Estabillo 34, Dela Cuesta 10, Reyes 9, Tagle 8, Gloria 5, De Luna 4, Belardo 4, Gratil 2, Castañares 2, San Diego 0, De Guzman 0, Galido 0, Salvador 0

RICHMOND OILERS (71): Bayog 18, Abequibel 11, Sombilon 10, Ferrer 8, Trinidad 8, Masa 7, Chandnani 5, Conta 2, Cerdeña 2

QUARTERSCORES: 25-17, 48-38, 69-49, 80-71

REFEREES: E. Pataweg, W. Hibe, J. Lesiges