Rivera named MVP, other season awards given

Mark Jerome Rivera captured the Most Valuable Player award of the APCRAA Basketball Tournament (ABT) Season 5 men’s division on Saturday, September 14 at the Asia Pacific College Gymnasium.

The season’s annual awards for the men’s division was given in between the two semifinals series.

Rivera, who averaged 22points, 14 rebounds and 2 assists per game, was the first MVP awardee from Team Knights since the team joined the tournament last season.

Two more players from the Knights won individual awards. Lorenz Ysulan was named as the season’s Most Improved Player while Nonoy Sonbise got the Rookie of the Year award.

Alex Tagle of Team Alpha won the season’s Defensive Player of the Year.

Besides the awards mentioned above, other individual citations were given. The following are the rest of the player awardees

Mythical Five:

  • Jap Puente (Alpha)
  • Mark Rivera (Knights)
  • Alex Tagle (Alpha)
  • Abe Tanco (Richmond Oilers)
  • Norman Ringor (Cookies & Team)

Rookie of the Year: Nonoy Sonbise (Knights)
Most Improved Player: Lorenz Ysulan (Richmond Oilers)
Defensive Player of the Year: Alex Tagle (Alpha)

All-Defensive team:

  • Alex Tagle (Alpha)
  • Mark Rivera (Knights)
  • Jhonel de Luna (Knights)
  • Jap Puente (Alpha)
  • Jess Carrillo (Alpha)